Rise of the Guardians Review

Well, I finally decided to do my review on the “Rise of the Guardians” movie (I’m going to avoid using spoilers):

rise of the guardians movie cover.jpg

Image found at: http://www.wearemoviegeeks.com/2012/09/new-poster-for-the-mighty-rise-of-the-guardians/

So the movie follows legendary Jack Frost, an immortal 14-year-old boy with the powers of ice and snow, and how he goes on to help the Guardians in a battle against the rising boogeyman, Pitch Black, who threatens the memories, wonder, hopes and dreams of the children of the world.

This movie can be watched anytime of the year and not lose an ounce of magic. Every time I watch this movie, it kinda feels like I’ve never seen it before (even though I’ve watched it about 4 times already!). “Rise of the Guardians” is a movie for all ages with its lovable characters and it’s timeless story.

My older sister Maria’s favorite character is Bunnymund. E. Aster Bunnymund is a 6’1″ tall Pooka (a mythological rabbit) who’s also the Easter Bunny! He speaks with an Australian accent and carries two large boomerangs with him everywhere along with his exploding egg grenades. As the Guardian of Hope he leaves Easter Eggs behind for children to find on Easter day.

My favorite  Guardians would have to be Jack or Tooth (or Bunny or Sandy or North…). Jack is (according to “Guardians of Childhood” author William Joyce) a winter spirit, permanently frozen as a 14-year-old boy. He carries an oak wood staff (with a G-shaped hook at the end) with him to help spread his ice and snow wherever he rides the wind to (for those who have read the books, didn’t a certain character have a staff that had a similar G-shape at the end?).

Queen Toothiana, or better known as Tooth, is a half-humming bird, half-human (or, according to the books, half-sister of flight, half-human) who is none-other-than the Tooth Fairy! As the Guardian of Memories, she collects the world’s children’s teeth and places them in each child’s tooth boxes located at her Tooth Palace in Southern Asia. Usually surrounded by brightly colored Fairies, Tooth is always busy.

Then there is quiet little Sandy. Sandy is the Sandman and as the Guardian of Dreams he uses his bright, glowing gold dreamsand to give good dreams to the children of the world. Sandy never speaks (from what I’ve heard he’s quiet so as not to wake someone who is sleeping) but has plenty to say and uses dreamsand images above his head to let others know what he means.

The last of the Guardians, and the apparent leader, is Nicholas St. North or better known as, Santa Claus. As the Guardian of Wonder he leaves behind wonderful gifts on Christmas Eve for the children to open the next morning. He’s a little odd, but is a very kind man although loud. The 7′ tall Russian is usually found in his office eating cookies and designing new toys for Christmas.

Then there’s the Boogeyman. His name is Pitch Black. He’s tall, dark and frighting and has a great dislike for the Guardians. He spreads fear and darkness wherever he goes and is usually followed by his Nightmares, especially Onyx, the main Nightmare.

If someone were to ask me if this movie were worth watching, I would say “yes.” This is family friendly and will be watched for years to come. This beloved movie may’ve flopped in the box-office,but it definitely didn’t deserve it (heck, from what I’ve read, “Willie-Wonka and the Chocolate Factory”,  “The Wizard of oz”, “The Iron Giant”,and “Atlantis: The Lost Empire” did poorly too, but now look at them!). In fact I believe that “Wreck-it Ralph”, “Skyfall”, “Breaking Dawn”, and “Life of Pi” all came out around November 21st (along with a large number of other movies) so perhaps a majority people were preferring to see the other movies rather than the Guardians’ film.

Since it’s release this movie has gained in popularity, but because of the box-office flop it lost so much money that there most likely won’t be a sequel, making fans like me sad. But there is a petition; https://www.change.org/p/dreamworks-make-rotg2-we-need-you-to-believe-again. Since it asks for address and e-mail and things I don’t actually want to fill out, I thought I might as well SHARE it so the word gets spread! #ROTG2 #DreamworksmakeaROTG2

I’d also like to thank my friend K who persuaded me to watch the movie! (I was actually googling “Frozen” pictures for my Elsa costume last year and I came across one that was about Pitch Black talking to Jack about Elsa and Pitch mentioned what Jack did and then I asked my friends if they’ve seen the movie and that’s what started me on the “Rise of the Guardians” fandom train).

Well, enjoy the movie everyone!

Leave a Reply

