A Day to Rest and a Day to Work

 

Hello Everyone! I’m sorry I haven’t posted in a little while, yesterday I was really not feeling good and just felt stoved up with a sore throat, runny nose, and a headache. Today I’m better though!

Since my last post we have taken in 3 new foster kittens (and if you’re wondering, Captain is doing very well and loves getting scratches under the chin… with a toothbrush…). We have called them Frenzy, Ruffnut, and Tuffnut. Frenzy is the little Tabby-and-white male, he’s kinder than the others and actually allows us to pet him a little bit. Ruffnut is the tiniest of them and is a grey-and-white female that is probably a vampire or at least under Satanic possession (she’s a mean one, she bit my mom’s finger and clawed my wrist really good). The last one is Tuffnut, a black-and-white, and we don’t know if it’s a male or female (though we’re pretty sure it’s female) but since it doesn’t let us pick it up we’ll have to wait a while. We’ve been joking that we’ll need salt, and candles and that Sam and Dean will get here soon with the rest of the supplies for the exorcism. Actually they are just feral kittens and just need to learn that we won’t hurt them.

But that was Monday (another Monday to remember….), yesterday I was sick on the couch so I got to watch Netflix all day. By all day I mean I watched three movies and one episode and had to pause one of the movies for a while while I finished the dishes. I got to watch “Road to El Dorado”, “Home”, “The Hunchback of Notre Dame”, and an episode of “Scooby-Doo Mystery Incorporated” called “In Fear of the Phantom.” So here are some mini reviews:

Road to El Dorado: “Two con-men (Kevin Kline, Kenneth Branagh) get hold of a map to the lost City of Gold, El Dorado. After stowing away onto one of the ships of the Spanish explorer Cortez, the pair escapes and eventually do find the city. There, a priest (Armand Assante) proclaims them to be gods in a scheme to win control of the city for himself. Meanwhile, they meet a beautiful girl (Rosie Perez) who helps them in their ruse.” (I just copied this description off google). “Road to El Dorado” is a Dreamworks film that came out March 31st, 2000 (this film is older than I am by a few months).  While personally, I wouldn’t watch it again immediately, it was a fairly good film and had some good laughs and I would probably watch it again in the future.

Home: When Earth is taken over by a friendly, dim-witted, and nomadic alien race known as the Boov, Gratuity “Tip” Tucci manages to avoid being captured and travels across the world with a fugitive Boov simply known as “Oh” who isn’t like the other Boov. Together they seek to find Tip’s mother and to fix a mistake that Oh has made. (That description I actually wrote myself). “Home” is also a Dreamworks film that was released into theatres on March 27th, 2015. This film is full of laughs and is definitely worth watching over and over.

The Hunchback of Notre Dame (Disney): “An animated Disney adventure follows disfigured Quasimodo (Tom Hulce), the bell-ringer of Notre Dame Cathedral, who bides his time locked away in a tower. With only gargoyles to keep him company, Quasimodo longs to be with other people, leading to his chance encounter with the enchanting Gypsy Esmeralda (Demi Moore). When the beautiful young woman catches the attention of Quasimodo’s guardian, sinister Frollo (Tony Jay), Quasimodo must help to keep her out of his clutches.” (as you can probably tell, I didn’t write this either. It came from google.) “The Hunchback of Notre Dame” is a Disney movie that came out June 21st, 1996 (I believe it celebrated it’s 20th anniversary just a few days ago). This film is actually somewhat dark and does contain mild bad language (such as using words like “damn” and “hell” and Esmeralda starts by saying “Son of a” but is cut off). The book itself, though, is much much darker and sadder and is definitely not meant for children. Though rumor has it that there is a live action “Esmeralda” movie being planned by Disney, but that’s just a rumor. One of my favorite songs (one I can actually sing) “God Help the Outcasts” is featured in this movie. But due to the darker themes in the film, very small children should probably not see it (it was nearly rated “PG”) but it is a good movie.

In Fear of the Phantom: While Velma’s favorite band is in town a mysterious person calling themselves “The Phantom” spreads terror and attempts to make this the bands last concert. This is the seventh of the “Scooby-Doo Mystery Incorporated” episodes and one of the few I like. I mainly like it because of the songs. I have very few SDMI episodes I like (I personally HATED the ending to the series, but oh well I’ll still watch a few episodes).

Well that’s it for now, tomorrow my sisters and I will get to go to the theatres, but we’ve got to clean up first. We don’t know what we’ll see yet but we’re hoping to see “The Jungle Book” (if it’s still in theatres, I’m not sure) or “Finding Dory” (personally I’d only look for the “Moana” trailers if there are any). You know, speaking of “Moana”, the trailer finally came out! Here it is!

Maggie and I can’t wait for it to come out!

 

Leave a Reply

