In Memory of an Actor Whom We All Knew

I don’t know if any of you have heard the news yet. My mom and I were shopping when she checked her phone for a moment and found out. A very good and great man, a role model, passed away. It was Gene Wilder. Now, he is most known for his role as the first (and in my personal opinion, best) Willy Wonka in “Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory” but he starred in so much else…

He played Jim in “Blazing Saddles” a movie my dad and I love to watch over and over again, he also played the Fox in “The Little Prince” (I’ve never seen the movie myself) and Dr. Frankenstein in “Young Frankenstein” and was in so, so much more.

I don’t think I’ve told you yet, but someday I plan on being an Actress myself. On the side, of course. I would have another job since I probably wouldn’t get as famous as Gene Wilder is, but still. Gene usually played an eccentric, but likeable character. He was a very good person and the kind of actor that I would want to be.

Gene Wilder was born in 1933 and died at age 83. It’s rumored that he died from complications from Alzheimers disease, but I’m not entirely certain. He actually founded Gilda’s Club, a club dedicated to finding the cure for ovarian cancer, after his wife Gilda Radner died of the cancer herself.

I even found a few songs from some of the movies he was in, not all of his songs most likely, just a few;

Psychedelic Boat Trip – Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory

Closer (and closer and closer) – The Little Prince

And my personal, all time favorite of his:

Pure Imagination – Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory

There will never be another Gene Wilder. There are funny people, there are great actors and many of them will be a lot like him, but I don’t think we’ll get another like him.

#RIP #GeneWilder

One thought on “In Memory of an Actor Whom We All Knew

  1. Pingback: In Memory of an Actor Whom We All Knew | The Musings of a Magpie

Leave a Reply

