School: Week 1

Well, the first week of school went well and I am officially in the 10th grade! Since we started on Tuesday, the first full week starts tomorrow. I’m keeping up on my classes and I am going to try to get A’s and B’s (get a GPA of 3.5 or higher) both semesters so that way next year and the year after I can take the college-prep classes (I think they’re called PSEO) in Vet Tech so when I graduate I can have a two year degree under my belt. If you have the option of doing the same, I highly recommend taking it! Now, not all the time all the papers go through and you don’t get in, if that happens then you should contact the principle or someone who can help to make sure you get in.

Unlike most people, I’m actually in an Online School (I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned that before) called K12. It’s a really good system, and I’m in the MNVA part of it (that’s “Minnesota Virtual Academy”). With my school, we have online sessions we attend each day. Some are for our normal classes (in my case, history, math, literature, biology, finance and German) and some are for clubs (I just joined 3 of them out of the 4 I’m allowed, I’m currently awaiting the “Helping Hands Club” sign up to appear). They even have what they call “office hours”, which are the same as the normal sessions (called “class connects”) except they’re optional and in there you can talk to the teacher one-on-one to get the help you need in their class.

Yesterday was a good end to the week; it was my grandmother’s 80th birthday! We took her to quilt shops and antique stores and had a cheese cake for desert (I may be lactose intolerant, but I will always love cheesecake!).

Hopefully I’ll be writing again soon!

-Anne Bell

Leave a Reply

